About the Bank

Home > About the Bank > Outline of the Bank > Holiday Schedule of the Bank

Holiday Schedule of the Bank

Offices of the Bank of Japan are closed on Saturdays, Sundays, national holidays, and other bank holidays indicated below. Holidays falling on Sunday are observed on the following Monday. National holidays are subject to change (for more information, please contact the Cabinet Office).

National and Bank Holidays in Japan

2017

Table : 2017
January 1 (Sun.) New Year's Day
January 2 (Mon.)-3 (Tues.) Bank Holidays
January 9 (Mon.) Coming-of-Age Day
February 11 (Sat.) National Foundation Day
March 20 (Mon.) Vernal Equinox Day
April 29 (Sat.) Showa Day
May 3 (Wed.) Constitution Day
May 4 (Thurs.) Greenery Day
May 5 (Fri.) Children's Day
July 17 (Mon.) Marine Day
August 11 (Fri.) Mountain Day
September 18 (Mon.) Respect-for-the-Aged Day
September 23 (Sat.) Autumnal Equinox Day
October 9 (Mon.) Health-Sports Day
November 3 (Fri.) Culture Day
November 23 (Thurs.) Labor Thanksgiving Day
December 23 (Sat.) The Emperor's Birthday
December 31 (Sun.) Bank Holiday

2018

Table : 2016
January 1 (Mon.) New Year's Day
January 2 (Tues.)-3 (Wed.) Bank Holidays
January 8 (Mon.) Coming-of-Age Day
February 11 (Sun.) National Foundation Day
February 12 (Mon.) National Foundation Day Observed
March 21 (Wed.) Vernal Equinox Day
April 29 (Sun.) Showa Day
April 30 (Mon.) Showa Day Observed
May 3 (Thurs.) Constitution Day
May 4 (Fri.) Greenery Day
May 5 (Sat.) Children's Day
July 16 (Mon.) Marine Day
August 11 (Sat.) Mountain Day
September 17 (Mon.) Respect-for-the-Aged Day
September 23 (Sun.) Autumnal Equinox Day
September 24 (Mon.) Autumnal Equinox Day Observed
October 8 (Mon.) Health-Sports Day
November 3 (Sat.) Culture Day
November 23 (Fri.) Labor Thanksgiving Day
December 23 (Sun.) The Emperor's Birthday
December 24 (Mon.) The Emperor's Birthday Observed
December 31 (Mon.) Bank Holiday