Designation of a Board Member to Perform the Duties of the Chairperson when the Chairperson is Prevented from Attending to His Duties

The Policy Board today designated, pursuant to Article 16, paragraph 5 of the Bank of Japan Act, Mr. Ryuzo Miyao, a member of the Board, to perform the duties of the Chairperson when Mr. Masaaki Shirakawa, Mr. Hirohide Yamaguchi, and Mr. Kiyohiko G. Nishimura are prevented from attending to their duties.