Designation of a Board Member to Perform the Duties of the Chairperson When the Chairperson Is Prevented from Attending to His Duties

The Policy Board today designated, pursuant to Article 16, paragraph 5 of the Bank of Japan Act, Mr. Takehiro Sato to be the third member of the Board to perform the duties of the Chairperson when Mr. Haruhiko Kuroda, the Chairperson of the Policy Board, is prevented from attending to his duties.