Skip to main content

Announcement of the Monetary Policy Meeting decisions (July 16)

July 16, 1998
Bank of Japan

(For immediate release)

The Bank today held a Monetary Policy Meeting, a regular meeting of the Policy Board on monetary policy.

By majority vote, the Policy Board decided to leave monetary policy unchanged.


Started 9:00 a.m.

Members present :
Masaru Hayami ( Chairman, Governor )
Sakuya Fujiwara ( Deputy Governor )
Yutaka Yamaguchi ( Deputy Governor )
Yasuo Gotoh
Susumu Taketomi
Toshio Miki
Nobuyuki Nakahara
Eiko Shinotsuka
Kazuo Ueda

(Others present)

From Ministry of Finance :
Hikaru Matsunaga, Minister ( 9:00 to 10:00 a.m. )

From Economic Planning Agency :
Eiji Kawade, Co-ordination Bureau Director General ( 9:00 to 11:26 a.m., 12:11 to 3:33 p.m., 3:38 to 3:48 p.m.)

Release of Monthly Report of Recent Economic and Financial Developments :
( Consisting of "The Bank's View" and "The Background" )

Japanese version of the entire report and English version of "The Bank's View"
9:20 a.m. on Tuesday, July 21,1998
English version of "The Background"
End of July 1998

Release of minutes :
2:00 p.m. on Friday, August 14, 1998